Search this Site



Cobourg is in the Riding Northumberland-Peterborough South which was formed after a re-distribution in 2012. See below for more on re-distribution.

Northumberland-Peterborough South

In 2021, incumbent Conservative M.P. Philip Lawrence won with a big majority although Liberals were returned nationally with a minority Government.  The next scheduled election will be in 2025 although with a minority in the House, an earlier election is possible.


Before the next election, the boundaries will be changed (unless the election is before April 2024 - for a time line, go here.).  The first suggestion made for a new boundary excludes Peterborough but adds Milbrook.  Roseneath and Alderville will not be included.  The new Riding will be called Northumberland and will in fact mostly be Northumberland. For a before and after map, go here.  The new Riding will also be used for the Provincial Election scheduled for 2026.

For the Official Page, go here.


Next Election

The Candidates for the next election in 2025 have not been announced EXCEPT that the incumbent Philip Lawrence (Conservative) will likely run again and Alison Lester (Liberal) has announced she will NOT be a Candidate.

As of 27 March 2023, the process for individuals wishing to be the next Liberal candidate for the Northumberland – Peterborough South is open. Interested individuals can find information on the nomination process at .  

The local riding has announced:

In order to enter, individuals must complete Nomination Contestant Package by going to

Anyone wishing further clarification is encouraged to contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

2021 Election

The Candidates for each of the Parties for the 2021 election were these.

Philip Lawrence Conservative Party
Philip Lawrence
Alison LesterLiberal Party
Alison Lester
Nathan Lang
People's Party

Nathan Lang

Kim McArthur Jackson

New Democratic Party
Kim McArthur-Jackson

christina wilson

Green Party of Canada
Christina Wilson

Contact Information

Conservative Party

Liberal Party


  • Electoral District Association - Facebook

Green Party


Past Elections

2021 Results
Northumberland-Peterborough South

Party Candidate Votes %
Conservative Philip Lawrence 30,839 44.5
Liberal Alison Lester 23,136 33.4
New Democratic Kim McArthur-Jackson 9,760 14.1
Green Christina Wilson 1,765 2.5
People's Party Nathan Lang 3,785 5.5

69,285   69.1%

News article

2019 Results
Northumberland-Peterborough South

Party Candidate Votes %
Conservative Philip Lawrence 27,385 39.7
Liberal Kim Rudd 24,977 36.2
New Democratic Mallory MacDonald 9,615 13.9
Green Jeff Wheeldon 5,524 8.0
People's Party Frank Vaughan 1,460 2.1

69,445    71.7%

News article

2015 Results
Northumberland-Peterborough South

Party Candidate Votes %
Liberal Kim Rudd 27,043 42.5
Conservative Adam Moulton 25,165 39.6
New Democratic Russ Christianson 9,411 14.8
Green Patricia Sinnott 1,990 3.1

63,876    71.67%

2011 Results
Northumberland Quinte West

Party Candidate Votes %
Conservative Rick Norlock 32,853 53.8
Liberal Kim Rudd 12,822 21.0
NDP Russ Christianson 12,626 20.7
Green Ralph Torrie 2,733 4.5

Turnout:  61,218  63.7 % 

In 2012, the Riding boundaries were changed so the 2011 election had different boundaries and an accurate comparison is not possible.


Google Ad